Pentawards 2022 Special Award winners

In addition to the Gold, Silver and Bronze winners, every year, Pentawards awards special prizes for people who have made remarkable achievements. The special prizes awarded this year include Agency of the Year, Industry Disruptor, Core Award (10+ wins), the People's Choice Award and the NXT-GEN award.

SeriesNemo wins the Design Agency of the Year after winning 5 Pentawards in this year’s competition. The awarded designs include MATCH, Never Ordinary (Gold), VETA, What Matters (Gold), RITUALS. Home Collection (Gold), MATCH, Never Ordinary (Silver) and CILANTRO, Herbal Spirit (Bronze).

This brand new award celebrates the designers or agencies who are agents of positive change in our industry, pioneers for change going against the norm, pushing boundaries and adding fresh air to our lives.

This year's winner, Davide Mosconi from Auge Design, is the most awarded designer from Italy and has led the team to win five Pentawards trophies this year which include The Perfect Pop (Gold), La Leccia Monocultivar Extra-Virgin Oil (Silver), Ginori LCDC (Silver), I Classici Sammontana (Bronze), and Bahlsen Seasonal Range (Bronze).

Crowned Design Agency of the Year in 2019 and 2020, and winning 10 Pentawards in this year’s competition, Backbone Branding wins the first ever Core Award, created to recognise consistent creative excellence.

The awarded designs include, amongst others winning 5 gold trophies for AVYUN, "Ani" Yogurt, HATERK, Joyco, and Thank You!.

In addition to professional expert opinions, we listen to the voice of the public. As part of the 2022 competition, we gave our Pentawards Festival attendees a chance to vote for a winning entry, the People's Choice Award. 10 designs were selected and put to the vote at the Pentawards Festival, with (add winner details) winning people's hearts, with Pentagram's Heights winning people's hearts.

Every year, the Pentawards International Jury selects one of the best student works among all categories for the NXT-GEN Award, which this year went to Martí Garcés Muntalt, Lesley Melissa Batista Víquez and Trinidad Mosso Tupper, ELISAVA, Spain.

PHB - ZERO WASTE PACKAGING replaces single-use packaging and blisters using FORMcard, a bioplastic created by Peter Marigold that is a strong and meltable bio-plastic. When used in the packaging of the toothbrush, it can later be repurposed as the handle, reducing the environmental impact.

Congratulations to all of this year's Special Award winners. For the full list of 2022 winners, please click the button below.